Skip to content

overly Jet

March 16, 2010
tags:

Did I mention that we now have a total of four gerbils? Not only did our eldest receive two males (Birthday and Shadow) on her birthday but her sister purchased a couple of her own, females named Jet and Shadow. So far we’ve had relatively good luck with them until we discovered a sore on Shadow #2. We found her huddled in a corner, bullied by a biting Jet. Could be worse. Could be a lot worse. Last week we heard a gerbil horror story: a friend’s gerbil pulled her own intestines out! This keeps Jet’s biting in perspective and also got me reading about gerbils, something we hadn’t done much of yet.

And so begun a bit of research starting wtih terminology. Gerbil, desert rat, or clawed jird? I vote for “clawed jird.” We discovered that their lodgings could be improved. When our friends warned us that their gerbils chewed through a few cages, I did find it hard to believe. I am wiser now. Yes, they eat right through plastic. This can’t possibly be good for them. Not sure why the pet stores even recommend such lodgings. We picked up a nice big glass tank from my mom’s this past weekend. We are making gerbil housing improvements slowly but surely. Jet is now separated from her sister (if they are indeed litter mates). We’ve read that females compete for males so perhaps Jet’s aggression is a result of smelling those yummy males around the corner. Kinda cruel of us and makes me hope never to be someone’s gerbil.

So… Have a gerbil? Pick up a camera ’cause these critters are the supermodels of the rodent world. I’ve only photographed Jet so far. I’m telling you she knows how to work it for the camera with her big eyes and direct stare. Wikipedia calls them “overly inquisitive”  and I think this is what makes them such great subject matter. I’m not sure what that “overly” is all about.

Something fun. My facebook friends (and my hubby too) were all laughing at me ’cause I’d never heard this song. Found it while googling “shake it like a polaroid picture.” Such a great song and I’m loving this Peanuts rendition! Okay, so I’m *way* behind in pop culture:)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Will permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:13 pm

    JET!!

  2. March 17, 2010 9:06 pm

    THAT’S a gerbil?! I had no idea. Lily and I are really enjoying that song. She’s in her new “hip hop” swimsuit and dancing away.

    • March 30, 2010 9:42 am

      I know. I really couldn’t have picked out a gerbil in a line-up before this. I can now! They were only introduced as pets here in the 60s. That kinda surprised me.

  3. March 17, 2010 10:19 pm

    What a cutie! That is facinating info about the gerbil world!
    This song makes me smile. Wes grew up in the LA hood and hip hop is the only thing played in the truck… Fionna loves this song too. Sometimes I catch the two of them down here on the computer watching Yahoo dance videos! Funny!
    Why were you googling “shake it like a polaroid picture”?

    • March 30, 2010 9:43 am

      That phrase came up here and there. At some point I saw it spelled out in magnet letters in a photo on a blog so I decided I must google it and find out what it was all about.

  4. Kelly permalink
    March 18, 2010 11:19 pm

    Ummm …I’ve never heard of that song, either. But why is that funny?! I feel like a dweeb.

    And yes, why were you googling “shake it like a polaroid picture?” Such a mysterious one, you are 🙂

    • March 30, 2010 9:44 am

      Kelly, I love that you never heard that song either! and I’m not surprised:)

  5. March 25, 2010 10:47 am

    AHAHAHA! You make me laugh, I love it 😀

    those overly inquisitive rascals!
    wait how is this possible?

Leave a Reply

